Arbitrary keymaps vs. terminals

Hi,

I have spent literally my whole day on this, with no result, so it really bugs me now :slight_smile:

I just started learning kakoune and while i was reading :doc keys i have run into <c-d> and <c-u> for buffer scrolling. As i started learning with disabled arrow keys to make myself use hjkl i have though to myself it is quite lame to use different keys for moving if you could use <c-j> and <c-k>. You do not have to leave home-row, and also do not need to switch LControl/RControl while scrolling.

So I have added the following to my kakrc:
map global normal <c-j> <c-d>
map global normal <c-k> <c-u>
map global insert <c-j> '<esc><c-d>i'
map global insert <c-k> '<esc><c-u>i'

And I am doomed since then, as it does not work.

I have asked it on #kakoune and @SolitudeSF replied: <c-j> is enter in terminal.
Then I have found http://www.leonerd.org.uk/hacks/fixterms/ and @mawww answered it is already supported by kakoune.

After a day of googling and reading around I know a lot more about commands like showkey or ASCII keymaps. I even found that leonerd’s libtermkey is somewhat competing with the solution used by xterm for the very same issue: XTerm – “Other” Modified Keys

Now i think it is not related to my basic issue, as these try to solve the multi-modifier-key problem as i understand. (And also some other cases when there is no difference in keycode for different keystrokes like TAB and <c-i>). It is a shame this problem have not solved in unix world in ages, but does not fix mine.

In my case <c-j> do differ from Enter, but my terminal send the same <ret> action to kakoune. What can i do about that? I have not found anything on how to change that.

Out of curiosity: I have tried this with a couple of terminals and all do the same. Is there anybody using this feature or it is some legacy that can not be changed or what?

You have stumbled on a weird legacy quirk added to the original versions of Unix.