How to execute shell commands with the current file name?

I have been using Vim for 2 years now. I am now switching to Kakoune. When I work with my latex files, I have a my Ctrl+Space key mapped to a sh command that will compile the latex file, (like this line in .vimrc);

autocmd FileType tex nnoremap <C-@> :w<Enter>:!xelatex -shell-escape -mode=nonstopmode %<Enter>

or sometimes when I am experimenting or quick prototyping, I compile and run my C codes, via this line in .vimrc

autocmd FileType c nnoremap <C-@> :w<Enter>:!clang -o run % && ./run<Enter>
autocmd FileType java nnoremap <C-@> :w<Enter>:!javac % && java %:r<Enter>

What are their kakrc equivalent? I am very very new to Kakoune and I have no idea what Kakoune specific things like hooks, highlighters, faces etc are. Someone please give me the codes that I can directly yank-paste in my kakrc and get working. And get into docs eventually as I get comfterble.

Also, if you don’t know what .vimrc line meant,

autocmd FileType java if the FileType is java, nnoremap non-recursively map, <C-@> Ctrl+Space to :w<Enter> save the file, and execute :!javac % && java %:r<Enter> where % is the currently open filename and %:r is the filename without the extensions.

A Kakoune “hook” is like a Vim “autocmd”: when a particular event happens with a particular parameter, a particular set of commands get run.

In particular, autocmd FileType blah somecommand is like:

hook global WinSetOption filetype=blah "somecommand"

The “global” there is the “scope” of the hook. “global” means the hook is present for every buffer, you could also say “buffer” (the hook is present for a single buffer, for every window it’s displayed in) or “window” (the hook is present for a single buffer in a single window).

Instead of having “map”, “nmap”, “imap”, etc. Kakoune’s “map” command takes a mode argument; instead of having “map” and “noremap” all of Kakoune’s maps behave like Vim’s “noremap”. So the translation of “nnoremap key keys” is: