How to setup LSP's for python and ansible?

I’m new to kakoune and so far I really like it. The configuration is much smaller than in other terminal based editors. Still, I have some difficulties with setup LSP’s. I want to use python and ansible with their corresponding LSP’s. I read through the documentation but didn’t find sense in it.

That’s a “me” problem in general, I don’t want to say the documentation is bad or so. I just did not get the hang of it.

So I’m asking here for help and I hope I got some. Please be patience with me, I will give my best to understand anything you would say.

Info
I installed kakoune new and deleted the configuration file to start from 0.

Greetings LxWulf

:penguin::wolf:

2 Likes
  1. Install Kakoune

From your message, you don’t seems very familiar with POSIX systems, I recommand to use you OS package manager (e.g. Apt for debian based Linux).

1. Install Kakoune-lsp

If it is not packaged in your OS package manager, I recommand to use a pre-build binary

1. Install a language server, e.g. Ruff

2. Set Kakoune-lsp configuration file, in $HOME/.config/kak-lsp/kak-lsp.toml, uncomment the [language_server.ruff] paragraph

3. Set Kakoune main configuration file in $HOME/.config/kak/kakrc: add to this file what is recommanded here

4. Restart Kakoune and edit a Python file

3 Likes

Hey @tototest99,

Firstly, I will thank you for taking time to help, really appreciate this!

Not really, I know that POSIX standard exist but never used it, at least
never consciously. But why did you ask?

My set-up way:

1. I installed kakoune via dnf successfully.
  2. I also installed kak-lsp via pre-build binary. And I can execute it.
  3. The ruff language server is installed in a virtual python environment.

So far so good, I guess, but in the next step where I should uncomment the
[language_server.ruff] paragraph I stuck, because my file is empty.

So I looked around and found a setup for the helix editor in the ruff-lsp