`*`-key usage (set the search pattern to the main selection)

Hi!

Kakoune newbie here. I see, that using *-key I’m saving the current selection to the / register, so I can use n/a-n (etc) to browse through available search results.

And here is an excerpt from Trampoline:

The smart search primitive (*) uses the current
selection as a search pattern, which will be saved to the
/ register. In order to use this primitive to execute a
temporary search, one could make this primitive save the
pattern to a different register, to preserve the default one,
e.g., "m* to save the pattern to the m register, or even
"_* to save the pattern to a “null” register, which does
not store anything written to it.

I really don’t understand why I should save * to a temporary register first. Any example of why this is useful?

Thank you!

A good reason to save your current search term (i.e., the current selection, via *, or a search term that you type yourself) into the / register is that the register keeps a history of recent search terms (100 search terms, according to :doc registers).

This history can later be accessed by typing <c-p> after /. Try it, and you will see that typing <c-p> shows your previous search terms after the prompt. This makes it easy for you to search again for one of these terms – no need for retyping.

Summing up, the history stored in the / register saves keystrokes :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot. I think I understand why it is useful to save current selection into the / register. The question was: why Trampoline recommends to save * into temporary register first?

In order to use this primitive to execute a
temporary search, one could make this primitive save the
pattern to a different register, to preserve the default one,
e.g., "m* to save the pattern to the m register, or even
"_* to save the pattern to a “null” register, which does
not store anything written to it.

How saving * to “black hole” register helps preserve the search pattern default contents?