Regex Motions

I’m new to Kakoune, but am liking it a lot. In Emacs, I can write scripts to move the cursor forwards or backwards based on some regex. I see that Kakoune understands the concept of regex, but I can’t find information on how to build motions out of it.

I would like to make a map that can select or extend to the next ), }, or ] character from the cursor. It would search forwards until it reaches any of those characters. Is this trivially possible with Kakoune?

look the f default mapping entry in the help buffer obtained with typing :doc keys in Kakoune.

I know that command, but I don’t understand how to give it a regex. I tried:

map global user f ‘f[})]]’

And variations thereof, but this just selects to [. There are backslashes, but they don’t appear in Discuss.

You’re looking for the search forward key, /:

map global user f /\)}]<ret>

You need to backslash-escape ) otherwise Kakoune thinks it’s an unmatched grouping symbol.

There’s also extend forward (?), search backward (<a-/>) and extend backward (<a-?>).

1 Like

Thank you! That helped a lot. For anybody reading, I got the exact behavior I wanted with these lines:

map global normal <a-.> '/[\}\)\]]<ret>'
map global normal <a-,> '<a-/>[\[\(\{]<ret>'
map global normal <a-gt> '?[\}\)\]]<ret>'
map global normal <a-lt> '<a-?>[\[\(\{]<ret>'

It’s so cool how expressive Kakoune is.

1 Like

There’s also the m and M keys for selecting and extending to the next matching character.

1 Like

Hello EPonyA and welcome ! :slight_smile:

I believe most of our user comes from vim, I’ll be curious to know why - comming from emacs - you choose to try kakoune

Cheers!

1 Like