Smarttab plugin + Purescript: how to get spaces when typing TAB?

Hi, folks. I’m using Kakoune to write Purescript code. This language does not want TAB characters at all. How should I configure the smarttab plugin to give me spaces instead of the TAB character when I use the TAB key to indent?

Please note: the indent commands work fine; the indent width is correct. I merely want to know whether I can use the smarttab plugin to insert spaces when I type TAB or if I have to get used to indenting using only the indent command and when auto-indenting happens.

I’m very new to plugins—I installed the plugins manager for the first time yesterday. Please feel free to assume that I know nothing and might have made some rookie mistakes. :slight_smile:

Thanks!

Hi there, smarttab README mentions the expandtab command which is what you should use: https://github.com/andreyorst/smarttab.kak#usage. In order to set it automatically according to file type you can use hooks. The README also has examples of hooks you can adapt, for vanilla or plug.kak installs.

1 Like

Thank you! I’ve added this to my kakrc and when I press TAB inside a Purescript file, I still get a TAB character instead of spaces. I have confirmed by debugging the options in my Purescript buffer that filetype is indeed purescript. I have this in my kakrc:

plug "andreyorst/smarttab.kak" defer smarttab %{
  # when `backspace' is pressed, 4 spaces are deleted at once
  set-option global softtabstop 4
} config %{
  # these languages will use `expandtab' behavior
  hook global WinSetOption filetype=(rust|markdown|kak|lisp|scheme|sh|perl|purescript|elm) expandtab
  # these languages will use `noexpandtab' behavior
  hook global WinSetOption filetype=(makefile|gas) noexpandtab
  # these languages will use `smarttab' behavior
  hook global WinSetOption filetype=(c|cpp) smarttab
}