Understanding a hook with exec -draft

Hello, I am new to kakoune – learning little by little, starting with a mininal setup (no symlink to the system-wise scripts, adding scripts only one by one to my personal autoload path) and trying to understand how things work. I am afraid I will pester the list with questions and comments.

For now I have trouble understanding how some hooks work. This hook for converting tabs to spaces:

:hook buffer InsertChar \t %{exec -draft h@ }

works (it is mentioned on the Wiki), but I would like to understand the role of ‘-draft’ here. I am told that -draft works on a “copy” of the buffer, but what is its exact role here?

Related: I would like to know why the following hook, which should be equivalent, does not work:

:hook buffer InsertChar \t %{exec <esc>@a }

The first (leave Insert for Normal mode with <esc>) and third (enter Insert mode after the current selection with a) steps do seem to be executed correcty, but the second step (converting tabs to spaces in the current selection with @) seems to be skipped, which means that the tab is not converted to spaces.

Any help in understanding these isssues would be appreciated.

To reply to my own query about the second hook:

Things get better if I insert h before @, although it is now difficult to exit from the selection and reposition the cursor to the right of it.

I guess my trouble comes from the fact that I don’t understand what happens to the “selection” (cursor) when typing in Insert mode (is the “selection” identical to the “newline” positioned at the end of the line? or is the “selection” nothing at all?) and when moving from Insert to Normal mode with <esc>. When pressing <esc> manually, the “selection” moves back one space to become the last typed char, but perhaps this happens after a delay, so that the hook does not detect it.

1 Like