Change colorscheme depending on mode

Hello!

I am very new to kakoune, but I love it so far.
I’m having some trouble remembering in which mode I am (because I’m also new to modal editing).

I wonder, as a feature request, to be able to use some colorscheme for normal mode, and another for insert mode.

If it is already available, please show me how, because I cannot find thru documentation.

hook global ModeChange push:[^:]*:insert %{ colorscheme solarized-light }
hook global ModeChange pop:insert:.* %{ colorscheme solarized-dark }

although you might prefer a less drastic change in colours, for example just changing the background colour

set-face global Default default,<a-new-background-color-here>
3 Likes

Really thank you, @prion
Specially because of your prompt response!

Yes, you are right… I was wondering to switch between gruvbox dark and light, but changing the background only is a better idea.

Just as an update.

I slightly modified the gruvbox-dark and renamed it (just changed the background color). And that new theme is what I used as you showed me using hooks.

Thanks again, @prion

@prion, would you write an example of a practical use of this?
I cannot get it to work for changing the background color when in INSERT mode.
Do I have to put

set-face global Default default <some-front color?>,<a-new-background-color-here>

Well, it didn’t work :frowning:
What am I doing wrong?

Another question. If instead of changing the background color when entering in INSERT mode, I would like to change it when in NORMAL mode, and keep the original colorscheme in INSERT mode, do I just need to change insert with normal in this pair of hooks?

hook global ModeChange push:[^:]*:insert %{ colorscheme solarized-light }
hook global ModeChange pop:insert:.* %{ colorscheme solarized-dark }

To:

hook global ModeChange push:[^:]*:normal %{ colorscheme solarized-light }
hook global ModeChange pop:normal:.* %{ colorscheme solarized-dark }

Well, it didn’t work :frowning: